Moab, January 3, 2012

With no snow in Summit County and feeling a bit burnt out after 40 or so days snowboarding before the new year, I decided to zip down to Moab, UT for a quick mountain biking and photography trip. I didn’t really have much of an agenda except to ride the Slickrock Trail (the mountain biking trail in Moab, kind of a Mecca for fat tire bikers) and check out Arches NP. I left a bit late (naturally) on Tuesday morning, headed down I-70 to Utah.

Self portrait

My companion and trusted co-pilot, Soph-dog.

Always a high light of the drive west, though sometimes nerve wracking, Glenwood Canyon.

Another favorite place, but only a quick stop for gas this trip (less than $3.00 per gallon!).

Spent pretty much the next hour or in awe.

Balanced Rock is on the left.

Slack jawed…

I love shooting these starbursts.

Windows area. I spent two nights around here.

I think this is Double Arch.

Leading lines… pretty obvious here.

Turret Arch

Feeling pretty good here.

Turret again

I was pretty much in love at this point.

Hoodoo stones

So that was my first hour or so in Moab and Arches National Park. I’ve got more photos, but for now I need to get some sleep so I can get to work in the morning. It takes a bit to process all the images from the Raw files to jpgs I can upload to wordpress. Look for more soon.

3 thoughts on “Moab, January 3, 2012

  1. The slow realization as you drive up on and get closer to the Moab/Arches NP area, especially if you are driving when the sun is setting and the shadows are getting long, that you are seeing sights you’ve never seen before, so unearthly – or maybe quintessentially earthly – it’s a once in a life time experience. Great pics that capture the feeling.

Leave a Reply

