Great Falls on the Potomac

I went out to Great Falls National Park which is on the border between Maryland and Virginia to explore what was there.  I was surprised to find some rather large rapids on the Potomac River and white water kayakers making the most of them.  I definitely was not expecting to find that here. The photos I shot were all during mid day and the accompanying harsh light.  I’ve been getting interested in Black and White photography more and more, so I decided to process these photos a little bit differently than I normally would.  I think the results turned out pretty cool.

I like the chaotic feel, and the single kayaker isolated in mid fall.

Chaos of water and rocks.

Chaos of water and rocks.

IMG_0163b

IMG_0164b

Spectators.

IMG_0183b

Leave a Reply

